Author Archives: Rutul Parikh

Welcome Transfer Students – Learn About Library Resources and Services

The Claire T. Carney Library welcomes you and offers you an opportunity to meet your subject librarian.

We will review the best resources for your discipline and how to look up and find books and journal articles. We’ll tell you about the services our library offers and how to ask for help when you need it.

Did you know that you can reserve a study room to work on a project with your classmates?  How about borrowing a laptop to take to class for that presentation? Yes, the Library can help you with these.

To schedule a personal or small group appointment to learn about library services and resources,

Contact Liz Winiarz at ewiniarz@umassd.edu 

Join the Science Fiction Book Club to discuss Lumberjanes Volume 1

The Science Fiction Book Club is excited to discuss Lumberjanes Volume 1: Beware the Kitten Holy at our first meeting of the fall semester. Lumberjanes is an award winning comic series, having won Eisner awards for both Best New Series and Best Publication for Teens in 2015.  The series was also nominated for a GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding Comic Book.

Lumberjanes is about the group of young teens that occupy the Roanoke cabin at Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hardcore Lady Types and the strange things they keep running into in the woods. Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Adventure Time will enjoy this, but it’s a fun read for anyone who likes supernatural adventure with a little bit of silliness and lady-type power.

The first four issues of Lumberjanes are collected in this volume. For those unfamiliar with the world of comics, many are released as issues periodically at your local comic shop or through online services like ComiXology. Each issue is usually around 30 pages. If the series is successful the publisher will collect them in a volume such as this one. The most popular series’ get collected into even bigger volumes (Lumberjanes currently has three!) which may include anywhere between eight to eighteen issues per volume.

As with many comic series’, lots of different people work together to produce the final work you see in the comic shop, bookstore, or library. The series was created by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, and Noelle Stevenson. This volume is written by Noelle Stevenson and Grace Ellis, illustrated by Brooke A. Allen, colors by Maarta Laiho, and letters by Aubrey Aiese.

You can find Lumberjanes Volume 1 at your local public library, through interlibrary loan, on Hoopla via the Boston Public Library ecard, or through a free trial of ComiXology Unlimited or Kindle Unlimited.

We look forward to discussing this fun supernatural comic with you on Wednesday, September 27th at 1pm in Library 314.

Welcome from the Claire T. Carney Library Staff!

Welcome or welcome back! We hope you had a great summer and if you are new, we look forward to meeting you.

Here are a few important things to know about our library including who to ask for help.

The Claire T. Carney Library is on academic year hours (specifics below). As always, as the semester progresses, hours will increase. If you’re unsure you can always check our library calendar to see our hours for each day.

There are lots of study spaces throughout the library for individual and group study and white boards throughout the building for team work. To make the most of our space, especially on the third and fifth floors, we have orange and purple signs on the group study tables to encourage sharing space whenever possible. You will find full computer and printing facilities on the first and second floors in our Learning Commons and Scholarly Commons. If you need a quiet space to study, please go to our South Reading Room near the Learning Commons on the first floor. If you are looking for a good place for group work, we have several group study rooms that you can reserve through ReservIT. Check this library orientation guide for directions on how to do a reservation. A map of the library is available to see all our spaces and you can even use the Find Me Here tool to send a link of where you are studying in the library to a friend or group to help make meeting easier.

Remember to check the computer classrooms (128, 225, 226) to see if they are open if public computers are full. We also have laptops at the Circulation Desk that may be borrowed for the day. Stop by our Learning Commons Desk to get assistance with IT questions.

If you’re back and already thinking about your senior project, your master’s thesis or the big paper you’ll have to write this semester, you might want to look up one of our expert subject librarians to help you with your research.

If you are an online student, check our Library Services for Online Learners guide. It tells you about special services for online students, such as free home delivery of UMassD library books, and helps connect you with helpful library staff.

For more fun reading, we have a Read and Return section in the Library Living Room that is on the honor system. We also feature a Game Night every Thursday night from 7-10PM in our Living Room. These board games may also be checked out for the day using your UMass Pass from the Circulation desk all other times. All of our other collections need to be checked out using your UMass Pass at the Circulation Desk.

We’re glad you’re back and we hope that you’ll stop by at one of our service points and ask if there is some way we can be of help. ?

Welcome Back!

 Claire T. Carney Library Staff

Any questions?  Please contact us:

Circulation Desk: 508-999-8750

Learning Commons, IT Help: 508-999-8884

Learning Commons, Research Help: 508-999-8678

Dean of Library Services: 508-999-8664

LIBRARY HOURS

EMERGENCY LIBRARY CLOSING

Due to extreme heat conditions, the Claire T. Carney Library is closed.

Check the website for updates.

For computer access, students may use the lab in Textile 001 and community members are invited to use the School of Law Library (located at 333 Faunce Corner Road in Dartmouth).  The computer lab in Textile 001 is open weekdays from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.  For the School of Law Library – which is open 7 days/week, please check their website for hours.

Science Fiction Book Club Meeting – American Gods

The Science Fiction Book Club’s second meeting of the summer is less than a month away. On July 19th we’ll be discussing Neil Gaiman’s award winning 2001 novel, American Gods.

Gaiman has had a presence in almost every medium of pop culture: comics, television, film, social media, and books. Gaiman started his career as a journalist but soon fell into the world of comics where his Sandman series helped revolutionize the possibilities of comic storytelling. Shortly after starting Sandman, he began his career as a writer of novels and continued to win lots of awards. His first solo novel, Neverwhere, was first a 6-part television series, also written by him. Both versions of his tale were released in 1996. He’s written so much and in so many different mediums, it’s probably best that I just share his bibliography with you and we’ll get on to why we’re here.

American Gods was his third solo novel and won four awards in 2002*. In early 2013, a 10 year anniversary edition of the “author’s preferred text” was released with thousands of more words added by Gaiman. Just this year, the first season of a TV series was released on Starz to high praise.

Gaiman is very communicative with his fans, tweeting constantly and semi-regularly keeping up a blog. He’s serving as the executive producer for the TV series and often tweets and blogs about the show.

American Gods is available in many local public libraries, through interlibrary loan, as well as through Boston Public Library’s ecard access to Hoopla as an audiobook.

We look forward to seeing you all in Library 314 at 12pm on Wednesday, July 19th to discuss American Gods!

 

*This link has an amazing amount of extra information, like scanned copies of his written notes and references (he thinks) he used to write the book. Beware of spoilers if you haven’t finished!