Join the Science Fiction Book Club to discuss Lumberjanes Volume 1

The Science Fiction Book Club is excited to discuss Lumberjanes Volume 1: Beware the Kitten Holy at our first meeting of the fall semester. Lumberjanes is an award winning comic series, having won Eisner awards for both Best New Series and Best Publication for Teens in 2015.  The series was also nominated for a GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding Comic Book.

Lumberjanes is about the group of young teens that occupy the Roanoke cabin at Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hardcore Lady Types and the strange things they keep running into in the woods. Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Adventure Time will enjoy this, but it’s a fun read for anyone who likes supernatural adventure with a little bit of silliness and lady-type power.

The first four issues of Lumberjanes are collected in this volume. For those unfamiliar with the world of comics, many are released as issues periodically at your local comic shop or through online services like ComiXology. Each issue is usually around 30 pages. If the series is successful the publisher will collect them in a volume such as this one. The most popular series’ get collected into even bigger volumes (Lumberjanes currently has three!) which may include anywhere between eight to eighteen issues per volume.

As with many comic series’, lots of different people work together to produce the final work you see in the comic shop, bookstore, or library. The series was created by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, and Noelle Stevenson. This volume is written by Noelle Stevenson and Grace Ellis, illustrated by Brooke A. Allen, colors by Maarta Laiho, and letters by Aubrey Aiese.

You can find Lumberjanes Volume 1 at your local public library, through interlibrary loan, on Hoopla via the Boston Public Library ecard, or through a free trial of ComiXology Unlimited or Kindle Unlimited.

We look forward to discussing this fun supernatural comic with you on Wednesday, September 27th at 1pm in Library 314.

Welcome from the Claire T. Carney Library Staff!

Welcome or welcome back! We hope you had a great summer and if you are new, we look forward to meeting you.

Here are a few important things to know about our library including who to ask for help.

The Claire T. Carney Library is on academic year hours (specifics below). As always, as the semester progresses, hours will increase. If you’re unsure you can always check our library calendar to see our hours for each day.

There are lots of study spaces throughout the library for individual and group study and white boards throughout the building for team work. To make the most of our space, especially on the third and fifth floors, we have orange and purple signs on the group study tables to encourage sharing space whenever possible. You will find full computer and printing facilities on the first and second floors in our Learning Commons and Scholarly Commons. If you need a quiet space to study, please go to our South Reading Room near the Learning Commons on the first floor. If you are looking for a good place for group work, we have several group study rooms that you can reserve through ReservIT. Check this library orientation guide for directions on how to do a reservation. A map of the library is available to see all our spaces and you can even use the Find Me Here tool to send a link of where you are studying in the library to a friend or group to help make meeting easier.

Remember to check the computer classrooms (128, 225, 226) to see if they are open if public computers are full. We also have laptops at the Circulation Desk that may be borrowed for the day. Stop by our Learning Commons Desk to get assistance with IT questions.

If you’re back and already thinking about your senior project, your master’s thesis or the big paper you’ll have to write this semester, you might want to look up one of our expert subject librarians to help you with your research.

If you are an online student, check our Library Services for Online Learners guide. It tells you about special services for online students, such as free home delivery of UMassD library books, and helps connect you with helpful library staff.

For more fun reading, we have a Read and Return section in the Library Living Room that is on the honor system. We also feature a Game Night every Thursday night from 7-10PM in our Living Room. These board games may also be checked out for the day using your UMass Pass from the Circulation desk all other times. All of our other collections need to be checked out using your UMass Pass at the Circulation Desk.

We’re glad you’re back and we hope that you’ll stop by at one of our service points and ask if there is some way we can be of help. ?

Welcome Back!

 Claire T. Carney Library Staff

Any questions?  Please contact us:

Circulation Desk: 508-999-8750

Learning Commons, IT Help: 508-999-8884

Learning Commons, Research Help: 508-999-8678

Dean of Library Services: 508-999-8664


Browse and Monitor Journals with BrowZine Web

Browzine LogoUMassD Library Services announces the availability of BrowZine web! This makes browsing and monitoring academic journals even easier. Create virtual bookshelves of your favorite journals and sync them between BrowZine Web and your iOS or Android device.

BrowZine includes many, but not all, of the library’s scholarly journals. Review a list of participating publishers.

Check it out and let us know what you think.

An Example of a BrowZine Table of Contents:

Browzine Web Screenshot

SciFi Book Club Mtg 8/22 – The Golden Compass

Golden Compass art work

Chapter 18 – Fog and Ice,
by Philip Pullman, Source

For the final (and, unintentionally, the second) Sci Fi Book Club meeting of the summer, we’ll be discussing Philip Pullman’s The Golden Compass. Known in the UK and Australia as Northern Lights, The Golden Compass is the first book in Pullman’s His Dark Materials series. It was released in 1995 and won the Carnegie Medal for Children’s Fiction in the UK that same year. The Golden Compass/His Dark Materials has been adapted to a variety of mediums, some listed here (be sure to scroll down all the way!). There are plans also in place for the BBC to make a TV adaptation of the entire series, though not much has been discussed about it recently.

If you haven’t read the series already, perhaps you’ve seen the movie or at least heard about the controversy. A movie version of The Golden Compass was released in 2007 and many religious organizations spoke out against it. The trilogy itself is no stranger to controversy, as in 2008 it was number 2 on the American Library Association’s Top Ten Challenged Books list.

Other than in this blog post and at the Sci Fi Book Club meeting, you’ll likely be hearing more about this series soon. Pullman is releasing the first book in what he calls the “equal” series entitled The Book of Dust. In May he released a preview of the book in The Guardian, but be wary of spoilers if you haven’t finished The Golden Compass or perhaps the whole series. You’ll likely hear more folks talk about these books in the coming years, so here’s your warning.

We look forward to seeing you in Library 314 at 1pm on Tuesday, August 22nd to discuss The Golden Compass. Since our American Gods meeting was canceled, we’ll plan on taking some time to discuss it as well. If you’ve only read one or part of either of the books, still feel free to join us!

Dean Burton – Selected as a Distinguished Alumni of UWM’s School of Information Studies

Terry Burton

Congratulations to Dean Burton for being selected as one of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 50 Distinguished Alumni!  The school selected recipients “who, through their lives and work, exemplify the breadth, diversity, culture, and spirit of the School of Information Studies and its research, academics, practice and community engagement.”

Dean Burton received his Master of Library and Information Science degree from the Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in 1988. He joined UMass Dartmouth as Dean of Library Services in 2010 after serving as the Director of the Health Sciences Library at West Virginia University and at the University of Wisconsin Madison. He has approximately twenty years of administrative experience, leading libraries during a period of historic transformation. His tenure at UMassD has included an award-winning building renovation, an expansion of library services, and management of significant staffing and position changes.  

Thanks to the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee for recognizing Dean Burton’s considerable accomplishments!

Library Closed – Tuesday, August 1st

The Claire T. Carney library will be closed tomorrow, Tuesday, August 1st due to extremely high indoor air temperatures. Work continues on the AC unit. We will post further updates as soon as we receive them.

Reminder: For computer access, students may use the lab in Textile 001 and community members are invited to use the School of Law Library (located at 333 Faunce Corner Road in Dartmouth). The computer lab in Textile 001 is open weekdays from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. For the School of Law Library — which is open 7 days/week — please check their website for hours.

Sorry for the inconvenience!

Library Closed – Monday, July 31st

We are sorry to report that work to the AC unit is ongoing and that the library will be closed today, Monday, July 31st. While repairs have been made, the unit is not yet functioning and temperatures yesterday afternoon at 2 pm were 85 to 89 degrees. The Dean of Library Services is hoping to re-open the library tomorrow, Tuesday, August 1st. As soon as a decision is made, I will post the news to this blog as well as to the library’s Facebook and Twitter accounts.



Due to extreme heat conditions, the Claire T. Carney Library is closed.

Check the website for updates.

For computer access, students may use the lab in Textile 001 and community members are invited to use the School of Law Library (located at 333 Faunce Corner Road in Dartmouth).  The computer lab in Textile 001 is open weekdays from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.  For the School of Law Library – which is open 7 days/week, please check their website for hours.

Net Neutrality Day

Did you know that today is Net Neutrality Day of Action?

In case you’re not familiar with net neutrality, the American Library Association  defines it as “the principle that internet service providers (ISPs) must enable access to all content and applications regardless of the source and without favoring or blocking specific services or websites.” The ALA describes the importance of net neutrality on their Network Neutrality page. There is also a brief article in CQ Researher (restricted to UMassD) that highlights some of the arguments in favor and against the current regulatory changes.